We’ve all been in a situation where we are running late and driving a little faster than we should. Unfortunately, you could face several traffic violations if you’re caught, including careless and imprudent driving.
If you find yourself in this situation, you may wonder what the penalties are and how you might avoid a conviction.
What are the penalties for careless and imprudent driving?
Missouri uses the term “careless and imprudent driving” to describe a range of reckless and dangerous driving behaviors, which can include speeding, tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic, making unsafe lane changes, and more.
Careless and imprudent driving is often motivated by a desire to arrive at one’s destination as quickly as possible, regardless of the risks involved. Or, it may involve being under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This type of driving can result in accidents, injuries, and even death.
A conviction for careless and imprudent driving in Missouri can result in a range of penalties, including up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, if it results in an accident, you could face up to a year in jail and $2,000 in fines.
If you are charged with careless and imprudent driving in Missouri, do not try to navigate the legal process on your own. It’s essential that you understand the charges against you and build a strong defense. Negotiating with prosecutors and getting the charges against you reduced or dismissed may be possible.