Despite mounting efforts by lawmakers to reduce drunk driving with harsher laws, many Americans continue to believe a DUI arrest is no cause for alarm. We feel that more residents of Kansas City in Missouri and Kansas would avoid DUI arrests if they knew about the possible consequences of a conviction.
Today, we will discuss some of the consequences of getting convicted for a first DUI. When you see how the authorities deal with a first-time offender, you will understand why you need to take action after your arrest.
Kansas first-offense DUI laws
A first-time conviction in Kansas means losing your license for 30 days, followed by a period of restricted driving for 330 days. You must also spend 48 hours behind bars or complete 100 hours of community service. Most defendants must also participate in alcohol education, assessment or treatment program.
Other penalties include a fine of up to $1,000 plus court costs, evaluation and probation fees. First-time offenders also risk losing their vehicle to impoundment for up to one year.
Missouri first-offense DUI laws
The DUI laws in Missouri resemble the laws in Kansas. For example, a first-time DUI conviction will result in a license suspension for 30 days followed by 60 days of restricted driving. Defendants also risk vehicle confiscation and may need to install an ignition interlock device. Those convicted of a first-time DUI may also have to complete an alcohol education/treatment program.
Now that you understand how even a first conviction for DUI or DWI can affect your life, it is time to create an effective defense. Not many people realize that it is possible to avoid a conviction. Learning more about the DUI laws in your region gives you and your advocate a sturdy foundation to build your defense.