Some people still think that driving under influence (DUI) is a simple traffic offense. However, this is not true. A conviction for DUI can have far-reaching consequences.
A Kansas DUI conviction could lead to jail time. And if you are a repeat offender, you will certainly spend more time in jail among other penalties. Besides, you will be having an erasable criminal record that will impact everything from your career to renting property.
So what are the Kansas drunk driving penalties?
The exact penalties for drunk driving in Kansas depend on the nature of your case. Here are the penalties you are likely to face if you are convicted of DUI in Kansas.
A first DUI conviction
A first DUI offense is treated as a Class B misdemeanor in Kansas. A conviction would lead to the suspension of your driver’s license for up to 30 days. Additionally, you may be imprisoned for 48 hours. However, you may be eligible for probation on the condition that you avoid drinking for a set period and sign up for mandatory alcohol treatment.
A second DUI conviction
If you are charged with DUI for the second time, you will be facing a Class A misdemeanor. The penalty for this will include the suspension of your driver’s license for at least 12 months. Additionally, you will be facing a 5-day jail time. You will have to spend two days in prison before you can be eligible for probation.
A third DUI conviction
A third DUI offense within 10 years in Kansas is treated as a felony if the previous charges resulted in convictions or diversions. However, if you have not had a diversion in the past 10 years, then you will face a Class A misdemeanor. That said, probation will only be possible after 90 days in custody.
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, find out how you can safeguard your rights and defend yourself and your future. You may have more options than you know.