Make no mistake, driving comes with rules; a lot of rules. And with so many rules to master and obey, it’s no surprise that keeping up with what is legal and what is illegal can be a daunting task. However, even when you consider certain traffic violations, the law may not feel the same.
If your driving habits lead to a traffic violation, you might receive tickets and fines that can impact your driver’s license. Here are three driving habits that can land you in trouble with the law.
Driving with a suspended license
Your driver’s license can be suspended for a number of reasons, such as when you are charged with drunk driving or following multiple tickets. If your driver’s license is suspended, it is in your best interest that you do not drive until these privileges are restored. Besides a traffic ticket, driving with a suspended license can also attract criminal charges.
Going faster than the posted speed limit
Under Missouri law, driving between 5 miles and 20 miles above the designated speed limit is treated as a Class C misdemeanor whereas driving more than 20 miles beyond the designated speed limit is considered a Class B misdemeanor. A conviction for either offense can lead to serious consequences.
Bad habits equal stiff penalties
Keeping up with all the Missouri traffic laws can seem daunting. Some tickets may seem frivolous, to say the least. Others depend more on law enforcement’s judgment. Either way, knowing your legal options can help you safeguard your rights when charged with traffic violations.